Presidents Council

The Presidents Council comprises all currently active presidents in good standing at local AIGA chapters. The Presidents Council connects the work of local chapters with national communities, councils, and task forces, as well as the AIGA Board and its Staff. The Presidents Council is led by a Chair and an Incoming Chair who serve staggering two-year terms. The Incoming Chair becomes the Chair after their first year of service. The Chair also sits as an ex-officio voting member of the AIGA Board.

Lauren Yanko

Presidents Council Chair

Lauren Yanko

Council Chair Responsibilities

When engaging with chapter presidents, the Presidents Council Chair and Incoming Chair:

  • Utilize their prior experience as a chapter president to advise current representatives on best practices in non-profit governance and strategic vision.
  • Nurture cross-chapter and cross-regional connections among presidents.
  • Gather chapter president perspectives and feedback to share with the AIGA Board and staff.
  • Facilitate chapter development through remote check-ins and national training events.
  • Set the agenda for monthly chapter leader calls with the national staff and the CAC Chair.

When engaging with the AIGA Board and national staff, the Presidents Council Chair and Incoming Chair:

  • Advocate for the local chapter perspective during AIGA Board Community Committee meetings.
  • Amplify and recognize outstanding offerings and results from chapters and their leaders.
  • Prioritizes AIGA Board and staff responses to chapter operations crises and violations of the AIGA Code of Conduct.
  • Gathers national perspectives and feedback to share with chapter leaders in their respective region.
  • The PCC attends all AIGA Board meetings and votes on all matters pertaining to the AIGA Board.

The Presidents Council Chair and Incoming Chair have the following qualifications:

  • Successful completion of one full term as President of a local AIGA chapter, minimum 2 years of service.
  • Additionally, the Incoming Chair must successfully complete their one-year term before becoming the Council Chair the following year.

Past Council Chairs

Jennifer Ford

AIGA Gainesville

Sherra Bell

AIGA Atlanta

Victor Davila

AIGA Orlando

Frances Yllana

AIGA Dallas

Andy Rich

AIGA Houston

Gage Mitchell

AIGA Seattle

Jenny Price

AIGA Minnesota

Gwen O'Brien

AIGA West Michigan

Elysia Syriac

AIGA Colorado

Andrew Twigg

AIGA Pittsburgh

Dawn Zidonis

AIGA San Francisco

Kevin Perry

AIGA Salt Lake City

Carolyn Colonna

AIGA Charlotte

Mira Azarm

AIGA Washington DC

Mike Joosse

AIGA Raleigh

Emily Carr

AIGA Washington DC

Mick Hodgeson


Kathy Fredrickson

AIGA Chicago

David Burney

AIGA Raleigh

Ria Sharon

AIGA St. Louis

Noreen Morioka

AIGA Los Angeles

Amy Strauch

AIGA Boston

Doug Powell

AIGA Minnesota

Mark Oldach

AIGA Chicago

Sam Shelton


Paul Montie

AIGA Boston

Bennett Peji

AIGA San Diego

Nancy Denny Essex

AIGA Chicago

John DuFresne

AIGA Minnesota

Marc English

AIGA Texas

Nominations Cycle

Nominations open
April 1, 2024

Nominations close
April 30, 2024

Self-Nominate Today

AIGA is seeking nominations for the role of Incoming Presidents Council Chair (IPCC). This is a one year volunteer role that runs from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2025. The IPCC then immediately transitions into a new one year term as Presidents Council Chair (PCC), which includes a seat on the AIGA National Board, until June 30, 2026


If you are a former or current chapter president in good standing, who successfully completed at least two years of service on your chapter board, and are interested in volunteering on a national level, we encourage you to self-nominate. Nominations are now open. Deadline: April 30, 2024