Meet the AIGA Centennial Medalists


February 20, 2014

Media Contact

Amy Gwiazdowski

(212) 710-3111

24 design visionaries will receive the prestigious AIGA Medal in 2014

NEW YORK—February 20, 2014. AIGA is celebrating its centennial by awarding a special class of 24 design leaders with the prestigious AIGA Medal, the highest honor of the design profession. Representing a broad range of design disciplines including publication design, typography, motion design, branding, interaction design, service design, product design and design education, together the 2014 recipients exemplify the legacy of visual communications and the impact of design:

Sean Adams & Noreen Morioka

Charles S. Anderson

Dana Arnett


Kenneth Carbone & Leslie Smolan

David Carson

Kyle Cooper

Michael Cronan

Richard Danne


Michael Donovan & Nancye Green

Stephen Doyle

Louise Fili

Bob Greenberg

Sylvia Harris

Cheryl Heller

Alexander Isley

Chip Kidd

Michael Mabry

Abbott Miller


Bill Moggridge

Gael Towey

Ann Willoughby

The 2014 AIGA Medals will be presented on April 25 at “The AIGA Centennial Gala” in New York City. Proceeds from the event will support Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships and the AIGA Legacy Fund, which includes centennial projects such as video archives and AIGA’s interactive design history at Chaired by David Gibson of Two Twelve and Mark Randall of Worldstudio, the gala will bring together hundreds of design professionals and enthusiasts to celebrate AIGA’s centennial and recognize the contributions of these design visionaries. Three of the Medals will be awarded posthumously, to Michael Cronan, Sylvia Harris and Bill Moggridge for their contributions to the profession.

“The AIGA Centennial is a time to reflect upon our accomplishments as a profession and to honor this special group of design educators, practitioners and leaders,” said AIGA Executive Director Richard Grefé. “We’re honored to have been able to count them as members, colleagues and dear friends.”

With a vibrant network of 25,000 members, AIGA serves as the collective voice of the design industry, championing design excellence and advocating for the influential role design and designers play in society. The AIGA Medal has been awarded since 1920 to individuals in recognition of their exceptional achievements, service and contributions to the field of communication design.

Media Contact

Amy Gwiazdowski

(212) 710-3111


AIGA, the professional association for design, advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force. As the largest community of design advocates, AIGA brings together practitioners, enthusiasts, and patrons to amplify the voice of design and creates the vision for a collective future. AIGA defines global standards and ethical practices, guides design education, inspires designers and the public, enhances professional development, and makes powerful tools and resources accessible to all.