AIGA Welcomes Five Members to the Board of Directors


July 12, 2023

Media Contact

Michelle Koenigsknecht

(212) 710-3138

New York, NY—AIGA, the professional association for design, announces the appointment of new members to its Board of Directors. The new Board appointments are effective July 1, 2023. The new Board appointments are three-year terms through June 30, 2026. 

The new Board members were elected by the entire AIGA membership and play a crucial role in determining the mission of AIGA, and ensuring the organization remains a relevant and contemporary association for the profession.  

We are delighted to share the new AIGA Board Members who will bring unique and diverse capabilities to the AIGA Board of Directors. 

Meet the new members of AIGA’s Board of Directors:

  • Rachel Elnar, Senior Creative Producer of B2B Engagement Content, Adobe
  • Aleksey  Fedorov, Director of Global Brand Marketing, Microsoft 
  • Cesar Rivera, Visual Design Branch Chief, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  (2nd term)
  • Art Taylor, Chief Executive Officer,  (2nd term)
  • Reggie Tidwell, Owner/Creative Director, Curve Theory 

AIGA’s new President Council Chair, Jennifer Ford, also joins the board of directors ex-officio for a one year term through June 30, 2024.

This year’s board slate was selected by the 2023 Board Nominating Committee, chaired by Oen Hammonds, Distinguished Designer, IBMer Experience, IBM HR and Victor Davila, Associate Professor, University of Central Florida's School of Visual Arts and Design. 

Continuing members of the AIGA Board:

  • Manuhuia Barcham (President), Managing Director, Archetekt
  • Victor Davila, Assistant Professor at the University of Central Florida
  • Oen Hammonds, IBM Distinguished Designer, IBMer Experience, IBM HR
  • Xouchee Moua, Chief Financial Officer, Goods & Services
  • Eileen Prado, Chief Financial Officer, CAP3
  • Elise Roy, Vice President of Accessibility and Inclusive Design, Salesforce
  • Isaiah Steinfeld, GM/Director, Startup Acquisition and Customer Experience, Amazon Web Services (AWS)
  • Anna Thomsen, Director, Central Financial Planning & Analysis, United Airlines

The departing members of AIGA’s Board of Directors are:

  • Sherra Bell (Presidents Council Chair), Owner/Consultant, Sherra Bell Consulting & Creative Know-Who, LLC
  • Sheharazad Fleming, Chief Creative Officer (COO), The Great Discontent
  • Maribeth Kradel-Weitzel, Assistant Provost, Associate Professor and Program Director of MS Health Communication Design, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Frances Yllana (Secretary), Senior Manager Design Operations, Coforma

“I am excited to welcome our new AIGA board members and I look forward to working with our new colleagues,”  said Manuhuia Barcham, AIGA’s Board Chair and Principal of Archetekt, a Strategic Design and Futuring firm based in Seattle, Washington. “I want to thank our outgoing board members for their incredible work to advance AIGA’s mission, for their commitment to the design community, and for helping to increase design’s reach. Thank you for your service to AIGA and the design profession.”

Media Contact

Michelle Koenigsknecht

(212) 710-3138


AIGA, the professional association for design, advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force. As the largest community of design advocates, AIGA brings together practitioners, enthusiasts, and patrons to amplify the voice of design and creates the vision for a collective future. AIGA defines global standards and ethical practices, guides design education, inspires designers and the public, enhances professional development, and makes powerful tools and resources accessible to all.