AIGA Announces 2020/2021 winners of AIGA Worldstudio Scholarships


September 02, 2020

Media Contact

Michelle Koenigsknecht

(212) 710-3138

$38,000 in scholarships awarded to students across the country

New York (September 2, 2020)—AIGA, the professional association for design, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020/2021 AIGA Worldstudio Scholarships. The scholarships are awarded annually to encourage social and environmental responsibility and cultural awareness in the next generation of artists and designers. Jurors selected 24 students to receive awards for the 2020/2021 academic year. 

The AIGA Worldstudio Scholarships program increases diversity in the creative professions by providing an opportunity for undergraduate and graduate students from underrepresented and economically disadvantaged backgrounds with positive social agendas to achieve their educational goals and give back to their communities through their work. 

This year, 312 applications were received and 24 were awarded—13 scholarships at $2,500 each and 11 honorable mentions at $500 each for a total of $38,000. Each student also receives a certificate of achievement, and a one-year, complimentary Contributor-level membership.

“Since 1995, more than one million dollars in scholarships have been awarded to over 700 students studying art and design,” said AIGA’s Executive Director, Bennie F. Johnson. “AIGA’s Worldstudio Scholarships are working toward the goal of increasing diversity in the creative professions and we are actively investing in the future of the design community.”

“Recent events have shed a dramatic light on the racial inequality that still pervades our country. Direct support of young, diverse voices within the design community is now more important than ever,” said Mark Randall, Principal, Worldstudio and program partner for AIGA Worldstudio Scholarships. 

You can find additional information and artwork for this year’s recipients on The 2020/2021 scholarship recipients are:

Illustration total: $9,000 + $3,000 chapter awards, 4 scholarships + 4 honorable mentions

Alice Mao, Freshman at Yale University
Amuri Morris, Senior at Virginia Commonwealth University
Cheyenne Newkirk, Freshman at North Carolina State University (AIGA Charlotte)
Eve Tamez, Freshman at Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design

Honorable mentions: 

Aliya Hernandez, Freshman at University of North Texas, College of Visual Arts and Design
Aydan Huseynli, Freshman at Rhode Island School of Design
Francine Lubin, Freshman at Howard University (AIGA DC
Sara O’Brien, Freshman at Pratt Institute

Graphic Design total: $16,000 + $1,000 chapter awards, 6 scholarships + 4 honorable mentions

Sundhya Anthony, Freshman at California Institute of the Arts
Alexandria Gee, Freshman at University of Southern California
Jonai Gibson-Selix, Junior at The University of the Arts
Taylor Kim, Junior at University of California Los Angeles
David Leyva, Graduate Student at New York University
Erika Loret de Mola, Graduate Student at School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Honorable mentions: 

Matthew Alexander, Graduate Student at University of Maryland, College Park (AIGA DC)
Cecilia Caputo, Senior at College for Creative Studies
Ricky Chen, Sophomore at Carnegie Mellon University
Ogonna Ononye, Graduate Student at Maryland Institute College of Art (AIGA DC)

Photography total: $6,000 + $3,000 chapter awards, 3 scholarships + 3 honorable mentions

Tanaya Henson, Freshman at School of Visual Arts
Beverly Price, Graduate Student at Maryland Institute College of Art (AIGA DC)
Maddie Provost, Freshman at New York University

Honorable mentions: 

Reeyana Sehgeh, Graduate Student at The Creative Circus
Sydney Walsh, Junior at George Washington University, Corcoran School of the Arts and Design (AIGA DC)
Robert Willis, Junior at Savannah College of Art and Design, Atlanta

Special thank you to the 2020/2021 jurors: 

Carlos Estrada, Principal/Creative Director, Agency 512 + AIGA DEI Taskforce
George Garrastegui, Jr., Professor, City Tech + AIGA DEI Taskforce
Sabrina Hall, Interactive Art Director, Scholastic + Adjunct Professor, City Tech (CUNY) + Board Member, CUP
Dian Holton, Senior Deputy Art Director, AARP
Emily Jan, Art Director, The Atlantic
Robyn Ng, Senior Art Director, Paperless Post
Melanie Reim, Associate Dean, School of Art and Design, Fashion Institute of Technology
Shani Sandy, Design Executive, IBM
Armando Veve, Illustrator
JoJo Whilden, Photographer
Mark Randall, Principal, Worldstudio and Partner, AIGA Worldstudio Scholarships
Tom Koken, Designer, Worldstudio

Since its inception in 1995, nearly $1.3 million dollars has been awarded to more than 775 college students of art and design. This program would not be possible without the generous support of our donors. Special thanks to participating chapters and supporters of the AIGA Charlotte Design Continuum Fund and the AIGA DC Design Continuum Fund, as well as the supporters of the #AIGATogether campaign, including the Richard and Jean Coyne Family Foundation, in celebration of the 25-year anniversary of the scholarship program. 


Media Contact

Michelle Koenigsknecht

(212) 710-3138


About AIGA

AIGA, the professional association for design, advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force. As the largest community of design advocates, AIGA brings together practitioners, enthusiasts, and patrons to amplify the voice of design and creates the vision for a collective future. AIGA defines global standards and ethical practices, guides design education, inspires designers and the public, enhances professional development, and makes powerful tools and resources accessible to all.