• Recommendations

    Meet the AIGA Centennial Medalists

    24 design visionaries will receive the prestigious AIGA Medal in 2014

    NEW YORK—February 20, 2014. AIGA is celebrating its centennial by awarding a special class of 24 design leaders with the prestigious AIGA Medal, the highest honor of the design profession. Representing a broad range of design disciplines including publication design, typography, motion design, branding, interaction design, service design, product design and design education, together the 2014 recipients exemplify the legacy of visual communications and the impact of design:

    Sean Adams &
    Noreen Morioka
    Richard Danne Alexander Isley
    Charles S. Anderson Michael Donovan &
    Nancye Green
    Chip Kidd
    Dana Arnett Stephen Doyle Michael Mabry
    Kenneth Carbone &
    Leslie Smolan
    Louise Fili Abbott Miller
    David Carson Bob Greenberg Bill Moggridge
    Kyle Cooper Sylvia Harris Gael Towey
    Michael Cronan Cheryl Heller Ann Willoughby

    The 2014 AIGA Medals will be presented on April 25 at “The AIGA Centennial Gala” in New York City. Proceeds from the event will support Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships and the AIGA Legacy Fund, which includes centennial projects such as video archives and AIGA’s interactive design history at CelebrateDesign.org. Chaired by David Gibson of Two Twelve and Mark Randall of Worldstudio, the gala will bring together hundreds of design professionals and enthusiasts to celebrate AIGA’s centennial and recognize the contributions of these design visionaries. Three of the Medals will be awarded posthumously, to Michael Cronan, Sylvia Harris and Bill Moggridge for their contributions to the profession.

    “The AIGA Centennial is a time to reflect upon our accomplishments as a profession and to honor this special group of design educators, practitioners and leaders,” said AIGA Executive Director Richard Grefé. “We’re honored to have been able to count them as members, colleagues and dear friends.”

    With a vibrant network of 25,000 members, AIGA serves as the collective voice of the design industry, championing design excellence and advocating for the influential role design and designers play in society. The AIGA Medal has been awarded since 1920 to individuals in recognition of their exceptional achievements, service and contributions to the field of communication design.

    Information about “The AIGA Centennial Gala,” including slideshows of the Medalists’ work, is available at aiga.org/the-aiga-awards. A full list of centennial activities is available at 100.aiga.org.

    About AIGA
    AIGA, the professional association for design, advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage and vital cultural force. As the largest community of design advocates, we bring together practitioners, enthusiasts and patrons to amplify the voice of design and create the vision for a collective future. We define global standards and ethical practices, guide design education, inspire designers and the public, enhance professional development, and make powerful tools and resources accessible to all. Learn more at aiga.org/about.

    For further information, please contact:
    Jennifer Bender, director of communications and marketing
    AIGA | the professional association for design

    Recommend 1 person has recommended this