Welcome to the sixth annual Design Legends Gala

 Filmed on: September 17, 2009

Gala co-chairs Ken Carbone and Michael Hodgson kick off the sixth annual AIGA Design Legends Gala at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York. Executive director Richard Grefé welcomes the design community and invites all to celebrate the achievements of 2009 AIGA Medalists Pablo Ferro, Carin Goldberg and Doyald Young; JetBlue and Patagonia, recipients of the 2009 AIGA Corporate Leadership Awards; the 22 AIGA Fellows from across the country; the 37 Worldstudio AIGA Scholarship recipients; and the winners of “365: AIGA Annual Design Competition 30” and “50 Books/50 Covers of 2008.”

Funds raised at the Gala extend AIGA’s commitment to preserving the legacy of design through its archives, to diversifying the profession by supporting talented young people who might not otherwise have the means to pursue a career in design, and to benefiting those students who have already become passionate about design and its role in enhancing life.