Announcing the 2014 AIGA board of directors

Ken Carbone, John Luu, Christopher Simmons, Jill Spaeth, Paul Wharton and Elysia Syriac join the national board; Su Mathews Hale elected to president-elect position

NEW YORK—July 1, 2014. Today five board members and a new presidents council representative join the national board of directors for AIGA, the professional association for design, following a national search. Each of the newly elected directors brings a unique perspective to the organization and will help shape the future of AIGA:

Elysia Syriac, Relish Creative, AIGA Colorado, takes on the role of chapter presidents representative to the board.

AdamsMorioka partner Sean Adams will continue to serve as president through June 2015. The board of directors elected Lippincott senior partner Su Mathews Hale to a newly created president-elect position. Su Mathews Hale’s one-year term as president-elect begins this month; she will serve as AIGA president for two years when Sean Adams’ term concludes on July 1, 2015.

As these directors assume their roles, AIGA also recognizes those completing their terms of board service on behalf of the design profession:

Drew Davies, founder and design director at Oxide Design Co. in Omaha, Nebraska, was instrumental in shaping the future of AIGA as a board member, design director of Design for Democracy, and national co-president from 2013 to 2014. He offered clarity in leading AIGA through strategic change and thoughtful advocacy for a truly national community of designers.

Andrew Blauvelt, chief of communications and curator of architecture and design at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota, was instrumental in celebrating AIGA’s centennial and leading the articulation of the board’s strategic plans for the future of AIGA. His strategic vision provided clarity of purpose and assures that AIGA will play an important role in advocating great design well into the future.

Doug Powell, studio lead at IBM Design in Austin, Texas, championed AIGA’s Design for Good program during his presidency on the board, an initiative which aims to ignite, accelerate and amplify design-driven social change, and led planning and research that influenced AIGA’s transformation for its second century.

Susana Rodríguez de Tembleque, executive creative director at SYPartners in New York City, played an important role in examining the positioning of AIGA as the organization faced change and celebrated its centennial; she was a powerful advocate for the role of craft in even the most strategic engagements of the design mind.

Nathan Shedroff, chair of the MBA in Design Strategy at California College of the Arts in San Francisco, is chairing the 2014 “Gain: AIGA Design and Business Conference” in New York City this fall. He was always engaged in bringing a lively and thoughtful challenge to national deliberations on the future of AIGA, design and designers.

AIGA’s 25,000 members are grateful for the leadership, commitment, energy and time these board members invested in the future of the profession and welcome the insights of incoming leaders. To learn more about the current directors, please visit

About AIGA

AIGA, the professional association for design, advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage and vital cultural force. As the largest community of design advocates, we bring together practitioners, enthusiasts and patrons to amplify the voice of design and create the vision for a collective future. We define global standards and ethical practices, guide design education, inspire designers and the public, enhance professional development, and make powerful tools and resources accessible to all. Learn more at

For further information, please contact:
Jennifer Bender, director of communications and marketing
AIGA | the professional association for design