AIGA welcomes new members to its national board of directors

NEW YORK—July 1, 2011. Today a group of five accomplished design professionals joins the 15-member national board of directors for AIGA, the professional association for design. As elected by members, the newest directors, representing a range of design disciplines and experiences, will serve three-year terms leading up to AIGA’s centennial in 2014. AIGA welcomes to the board:

  • Andrew Blauvelt, chief of communications and audience engagement, and curator of architecture and design, Walker Art Center; AIGA Minnesota
  • Drew Davies, founder and design director, Oxide Design; AIGA Nebraska
  • Doug Powell (president), designer, entrepreneur and business strategist, Schwartz Powell; AIGA Minnesota
  • Susana Rodríguez de Tembleque, executive creative director, SYPartners; AIGA San Francisco
  • Nathan Shedroff, chair, MBA in Design Strategy, California College of the Arts; AIGA San Francisco

In addition, one current director was elected to complete the remaining year in a vacated term:

  • Darralyn Rieth, design innovation, brand strategy and design management consultant; AIGA Philadelphia

Each of the new directors brings a unique perspective to AIGA and will help shape the direction of the 97-year-old organization, the largest professional association for communication designers. Together with Julie Beeler, Gaby Brink, Phil Hamlett, Zia Khan, Jamie Koval, Deanna Kuhlmann-Leavitt, Santiago Piedrafita, Angela Shen-Hsieh and Robin Tooms—each of whom is continuing their service on the board—these leaders will work to ensure the organization is serving the best interests of AIGA members in the present and future.

As these new directors assume their roles, AIGA also recognizes those completing their terms of volunteer service on behalf of the design profession:

  • As president of AIGA for the past two years, Debbie Millman, president of the design division at Sterling Brands, led chapters and members in a connectivity initiative through social media and local events at many of the 66 chapters throughout the country. Millman will continue to serve on the board in an ex officio role until July 2012.
  • Stanley Hainsworth, founder of Tether, lent his unique vision to the organization to inspire new strategic partnerships and revitalize the “Gain: AIGA Design and Business Conference” while serving as co-chair of the biennial event.
  • Louise Sandhaus, professor of graphic design at California Institute of the Arts, led the AIGA Design Educators Community in developing programs for educators and launching efforts to renew the curriculum for design programs in secondary institutions throughout the United States.
  • Brad Weed, partner group manager for Windows Live at Microsoft, provided strategic perspective, leadership in updating AIGA policies for today’s challenges and connections with interactive and experience designers beyond AIGA’s normal reach.
  • Pamela Williams, co-founder, creative director and partner of Williams and House, contributed her expertise to improving communications across the national organization and increasing member retention rates

AIGA sincerely thanks those board members completing their service for their extraordinary contributions, and welcomes the thoughtful insights of incoming board members for the 2011–2014 term. To learn more about each of the current directors, please visit

About AIGA

AIGA is the professional association for design, a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing design as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force. Founded in 1914, AIGA today serves more than 22,000 members through 66 chapters and 200 student groups across the United States. AIGA stimulates thinking about design, demonstrates the value of design and empowers the success of designers at each stage of their careers. Learn more at

For further information, please contact:
Jennifer Bender

AIGA | the professional association for design
Tel 212 710 3136   Fax 212 807 1799