AIGA and South by Southwest Film Festival join forces to honor excellence in design for film

Second annual prize for film poster design is awarded, joined by inaugural film title design award

NEW YORK—March 23, 2010. Last week film buffs and industry leaders gathered in Austin, Texas, to honor awardees at the South by Southwest (SXSW) Film Conference and Festival. And this year, they had something new to celebrate: award-winning movie posters and film title sequences.

SXSW Film has partnered with AIGA to celebrate design for the film industry since early 2009, when AIGA Austin board member David Horridge helped launch the “SXSW Film/AIGA Austin Award for Excellence in Movie Poster Design.” Following the success of the inaugural poster award last year, Horridge pitched the idea of a broader umbrella film design award category that would include both poster design and title sequence design. The SXSW Film team jumped at the idea and established the 2010 SXSW Film Design Awards—once again celebrating excellence in poster design and adding a special contest to discover the best in contemporary title sequence design.

“The movie poster has long been an important and exciting collaboration between filmmaker and designer,” said Horridge. “It's the opportunity for both to distill the auteur's story down to a single image that will both inspire and intrigue the audience at a glance. We're thrilled to be able to highlight that work and build on it to include motion design.”

An exhibition celebrating the Poster Awards was held at the Austin Museum of Art; finalists for the new “Excellence in Title Design” award were also on display.

2010 SXSW Film Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design 

  • Winner: Feeder
    Designer: Joseph Ernst
  • Runner-up: Amer
    Designer: Gilles Vranckx
  • Audience Award Winner: Richard Garriott: Man on a Mission
    Designer: Michael Anderson
  • Special Jury Award: Equestrian Sexual Response
    Designers: Martim Vian and Zeke Hawkins

The Excellence in Poster Design jury consisted of an esteemed panel of designers and film experts, including Craig Crutchfield (Chaos Concept Mfg.), Craig Denham (Sanders/Wingo), David Frost (AllCity), Marc English (Marc English Design) and Tim League (Alamo Drafthouse).

Excellence in Title Design 

  • Winner: Zombieland
    Designer: Ben Conrad
  • Runner-up: earthwork
    Designer: Stan Herd
  • Audience Award Winner: earthwork
    Designer: Stan Herd
  • Special Jury Award: Enter the Void
    Designer: Gaspar Noé and Tom Kam

The jury for the Excellence in Title Design Award consisted of a panel of industry experts and practitioners of title design, digital film production and online hosting and distribution, including Susan Bradley (Pixar), Karin Fong (Imaginary Forces), Alex Ulloa and Ian Albinson (The Art of the Title Sequence), Remco Vlaanderen (Submarine Channel's Forget the Film, Watch the Titles) and Ron Pippin (Shiny Object).

“Collaborating with the SXSW Film staff and the AIGA Austin volunteers on these awards has been truly inspiring,” added Horridge. “They all helped take a simple idea and turn it into an international sensation faster than I could have ever dreamed. And this is just the beginning.”

About AIGA

Founded in 1997 with 50 members, the AIGA Austin chapter now serves 277 members in its 13th year and holds over 30 events per year. Learn more about local events and activities on AIGA Austin's Facebook group or visit

AIGA, the professional association for design, stimulates thinking about design, demonstrates the value of design and empowers the success of designers at each stage of their careers. AIGA's mission is to advance designing as a professional craft, strategic tool and vital cultural force. Founded in 1914, AIGA remains the oldest and largest professional membership organization for design, and is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) educational institution. Today AIGA serves more than 20,000 members through 65 chapters and 200 student groups. For more information, visit

About South by Southwest Film Conference & Festival

The SXSW Film Conference and Festival is a uniquely creative environment featuring the dynamic convergence of talent, smart audiences and industry heavyweights. A hotbed of discovery and interactivity, the event offers lucrative networking opportunities and immersion into the art and business of the rapidly evolving world of independent film.

Over the first five days, the Film Conference buzzes as world-class speakers, creative minds, and notable mentors tackle the latest filmmaking trends amidst the unmatched social atmosphere of the SXSW experience. Simultaneously, the internationally acclaimed, nine-day Festival celebrates raw innovation and emerging talent, with a truly diverse program ranging from provocative documentaries to subversive Hollywood comedies. For more information, visit

For further information, please contact: Jennifer Bender
AIGA | the professional association for design
Tel 212 710 3136 Fax 212 807 1799