2014–2015 Worldstudio AIGA Scholarship winners

The 2014–2015 Worldstudio AIGA Scholarship jurors met in May 2014 and reviewed more than 200 applications from students attending art and design programs at colleges and universities across the country. Eleven scholarships and three honorable mentions were granted to an outstanding group of applicants in four categories, through the generous support of sponsors including the AIGA DC Continuum Fund Scholarship, AIGA-Tomoko Miho Fund Scholarship, Coyne Family Foundation, the Rebecca Marco Award and the Young Photographer’s Alliance.

Download essays and portfolios of all scholarship and honorable mention recipients (2.6 MB)

2014–2015 recipients and honorable mentions

Graphic Design

Christian Alejandre portrait
Christian Alejandre
Freshman, School TBD
The Rebecca Marco Honorable Mention
Download Christian’s essay and portfolio
Andres Garcia portrait
Andres Garcia
Senior, University of Houston
The Rebecca Marco Honorable Mention
Download Andres’ essay and portfolio
Stedman Halliday portrait
Stedman Halliday
Junior, California Institute of the Arts
AIGA-Tomoko Miho Award
Download Stedman’s essay and portfolio
Yathrib Ragsdale
Yathrib Ragsdale
Graduate Student, George Mason University
AIGA DC Continuum Award + The Rebecca Marco Award
Download Yathrib’s essay and portfolio
Sadie Red Wing portrait
Sadie Red Wing
Graduate, North Carolina State University
Coyne Family Foundation Award
Download Sadie’s essay and portfolio
Myles Thompson portrait
Myles Thompson
Sophmore, Kansas City Art Institute
The Rebecca Marco Award
Download Myles’ essay and portfolio


Luis Castaneda portraits
Luis Castaneda
Freshman, Rhode Island School of Design
The Rebecca Marco Honorable Mention
Download Luis’ essay and portfolio
Wereme Guerra-Martinez
Wereme Guerra-Martinez
Freshman, Art Center College of Design
Coyne Family Foundation Award
Download Wereme’s essay and portfolio
Devon Rodriguez portrait
Devon Rodriguez
Freshman, School TBD
Coyne Family Foundation Award
Download Devon’s essay and portfolio
Bryant Santamaria portrait
Bryant Santamaria
Sophmore, Laguna College of Art & Design
The Rebecca Marco Award
Download Bryant’s essay and portfolio


Kawing Ng portrait
Kawing Ng
Graduate Student, School of Visual Arts
The Rebecca Marco Award
Download Kawing’s essay and portfolio


Cameron Durham portrait
Cameron Durham
Freshman, Parsons, The New School of Design
Young Photographers Alliance Award
Download Cameron’s essay and portfolio
Malaika Kambon portrait
Malaika Kambon
Freshman, Academy of Art University
Young Photographers Alliance Award
Download Malaika’s essay and portfolio
Esther Young portrait
Esther Young
Freshman, School of Visual Arts
Young Photographers Alliance Award
Download Esther’s essay and portfolio

2014–2015 scholarship jury

Graphic design

Dian Holton, AIGA DC
Matt Kay, Original Champions of Design (OCD)
Scott Santoro, Worksight

Interactive design

Vijay Matthews, W&Co.


Melinda Beck
Charles Hively, 3x3 Magazine 


Jerry Tavin, Young Photographers Alliance (YPA)
Spencer Jones, Glasshouse Images
Bruce Katz, Bruce Katz Photo

About Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships

Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships allow U.S. college students from minority and economically disadvantaged backgrounds not only to realize their artistic dreams, but also to give back to their communities. The program’s aims are to increase diversity in the creative professions and to foster social and environmental responsibility in the artists, designers and studios of tomorrow. To learn more about eligibility requirements and how to apply for next academic year’s scholarships, visit the Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships page.