AIGA announces five new 2017 national board of directors
By AIGA April 10, 2017
AIGA announces five new 2017 national board of directors
By AIGA April 10, 2017
AIGA announces five new 2017 national board of directors
By AIGA April 10, 2017

New York, April 10, 2017—AIGA, the professional association for design, announces the appointment of five new members to its 2017 national board of directors.

Additionally, the board has asked Su Mathews Hale to serve as president of AIGA for the third and final year of her term, effective July 1, 2017–June 30, 2018, and appointed two ex officio directors, each for a one-year term: Dana Arnett, VSA Partners (AIGA Chicago) as president-elect to work closely with Mathews Hale in the final year of her presidency, and Ann Willoughby, Willoughby Design (AIGA Kansas City) who will serve as ambassador for the AIGA Design Archives.

“AIGA has had a profound impact on my professional development and enduring view of design. I’m humbled by this opportunity to serve the organization and to work more closely with our diverse and talented members as we write this next chapter for AIGA,” said Dana Arnett, Founding Partner and Vice Chairman, VSA Partners.

The new members of AIGA’s national board of directors, who will begin a three-year term on July 1, 2017, are:

  • Helen Armstrong, North Carolina State University, AIGA Raleigh–views design from across the spectrum of a practicing designer, a college professor, and a published author. She is an associate professor at North Carolina State University and a principal at her company, Strong Design.
  • Sarah Brooks, IBM, AIGA DC—is a service designer, researcher, strategist and advocate for social change. She has led multidisciplinary teams creating products and services ranging from food systems, healthcare, media, education, finance, civic innovation, and has worked with a broad range of Fortune 500, start-up, nonprofit, and foundation clients.
  • Sara Frisk, Salesforce, AIGA Chicago—believes everything can be made better through design. She has learned from Michael Bierut at Pentagram and led multiple award-winning projects across a variety of industries. She served as AIGA Chicago’s president from 2012–2015.
  • Richard Ting, R/GA, AIGA New York—leads R/GA’s global experience design team as EVP, global chief experience officer. He is a sought-after digital thought leader and has served on a number of award show juries, such as The One Show, International CLIO Awards, London International Awards, Effies, and Webby Awards.
  • Hugh Weber, Institute of Possibility, AIGA South Dakota—is a researcher, network theorist, storyteller, community organizer, design advocate, and small town kid. He founded OTA, a for-purpose organization focused on sparking transformation through creative connections and collisions in North Dakota, South Dakota and Minnesota.

“Our new board members embody the diversity and spirit of the design community and bring talent, expertise and energy to the table,” said Julie Anixter, executive director of AIGA. “They will ensure that AIGA continues to operate in the best interest of past, present, and future members.”

The new board members were nominated by AIGA members, chapter leaders, and design opinion leaders. The 2017 nominating committee is made up principally of AIGA members, not board members, in order to ensure the best representation of their views. AIGA members who were selected to serve met the criteria outlined by the nominating committee and fit best with the immediate priorities and needs facing the organization.

“I am so excited about the new additions to our board and the role that they will play in helping AIGA continue to stay relevant, serve an increasingly diverse community, and have a voice in the issues that matter," said Su Mathews Hale, president of AIGA.

Current members of the national board who will continue serving are:

    • Justin Ahrens, Rule 29, AIGA Chicago
    • Ashleigh Axios, Automatic, AIGA Washington, DC
    • Agustín Garza, Garza Group Communications, AIGA Los Angeles
    • Su Mathews Hale (president), Lippincott, AIGA San Francisco
    • Karin Hibma, : : CRONAN : :, AIGA San Francisco
    • Richard Hollant, CO:LAB, AIGA Connecticut
    • Matthew Muñoz, New Kind, AIGA Raleigh
    • Christine Taylor, Hallmark Cards, Inc., AIGA Kansas City
    • Andrew Twigg (treasurer), Carnegie Mellon School of Design, AIGA Pittsburgh
    • Jennifer Viscoky O’Grady, Cleveland State University, AIGA Cleveland
    • Jennifer Price, (presidents council chair), The Art Institute of Pittsburgh Online, AIGA Minnesota

About AIGA

AIGA, the professional association for design, advances design as a professional craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force. As the largest and most influential community of design advocates, AIGA brings together practitioners, enthusiasts, and patrons to amplify the voice of design and creates the vision for a collective future. AIGA defines global standards and ethical practices, guides design education, inspires designers and the public, enhances professional development, and makes powerful tools and resources accessible to all. 

Tags AIGA news AIGA Medal Press release