• 2014–2015 Worldstudio AIGA Scholarship winners

    The 2014–2015 Worldstudio AIGA Scholarship jurors met in May 2014 and reviewed more than 200 applications from students attending art and design programs at colleges and universities across the country. Eleven scholarships and three honorable mentions were granted to an outstanding group of applicants in four categories, through the generous support of sponsors including the AIGA DC Continuum Fund Scholarship, AIGA-Tomoko Miho Fund Scholarship, Coyne Family Foundation, the Rebecca Marco Award and the Young Photographer’s Alliance.

    Download essays and portfolios of all scholarship and honorable mention recipients (2.6 MB)

    2014–2015 recipients and honorable mentions

    Graphic Design

    Christian Alejandre portrait
    Christian Alejandre
    Freshman, School TBD
    The Rebecca Marco Honorable Mention
    Download Christian’s essay and portfolio
    Andres Garcia portrait
    Andres Garcia
    Senior, University of Houston
    The Rebecca Marco Honorable Mention
    Download Andres’ essay and portfolio
    Stedman Halliday portrait
    Stedman Halliday
    Junior, California Institute of the Arts
    AIGA-Tomoko Miho Award
    Download Stedman’s essay and portfolio
    Yathrib Ragsdale
    Yathrib Ragsdale
    Graduate Student, George Mason University
    AIGA DC Continuum Award + The Rebecca Marco Award
    Download Yathrib’s essay and portfolio
    Sadie Red Wing portrait
    Sadie Red Wing
    Graduate, North Carolina State University
    Coyne Family Foundation Award
    Download Sadie’s essay and portfolio
    Myles Thompson portrait
    Myles Thompson
    Sophmore, Kansas City Art Institute
    The Rebecca Marco Award
    Download Myles’ essay and portfolio


    Luis Castaneda portraits
    Luis Castaneda
    Freshman, Rhode Island School of Design
    The Rebecca Marco Honorable Mention
    Download Luis’ essay and portfolio
    Wereme Guerra-Martinez
    Wereme Guerra-Martinez
    Freshman, Art Center College of Design
    Coyne Family Foundation Award
    Download Wereme’s essay and portfolio
    Devon Rodriguez portrait
    Devon Rodriguez
    Freshman, School TBD
    Coyne Family Foundation Award
    Download Devon’s essay and portfolio
    Bryant Santamaria portrait
    Bryant Santamaria
    Sophmore, Laguna College of Art & Design
    The Rebecca Marco Award
    Download Bryant’s essay and portfolio


    Kawing Ng portrait
    Kawing Ng
    Graduate Student, School of Visual Arts
    The Rebecca Marco Award
    Download Kawing’s essay and portfolio


    Cameron Durham portrait
    Cameron Durham
    Freshman, Parsons, The New School of Design
    Young Photographers Alliance Award
    Download Cameron’s essay and portfolio
    Malaika Kambon portrait
    Malaika Kambon
    Freshman, Academy of Art University
    Young Photographers Alliance Award
    Download Malaika’s essay and portfolio
    Esther Young portrait
    Esther Young
    Freshman, School of Visual Arts
    Young Photographers Alliance Award
    Download Esther’s essay and portfolio

    2014–2015 scholarship jury

    Graphic design

    Dian Holton, AIGA DC
    Matt Kay, Original Champions of Design (OCD)
    Scott Santoro, Worksight

    Interactive design

    Vijay Matthews, W&Co.


    Melinda Beck
    Charles Hively, 3x3 Magazine 


    Jerry Tavin, Young Photographers Alliance (YPA)
    Spencer Jones, Glasshouse Images
    Bruce Katz, Bruce Katz Photo

    About Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships

    Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships allow U.S. college students from minority and economically disadvantaged backgrounds not only to realize their artistic dreams, but also to give back to their communities. The program’s aims are to increase diversity in the creative professions and to foster social and environmental responsibility in the artists, designers and studios of tomorrow. To learn more about eligibility requirements and how to apply for next academic year’s scholarships, visit the Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships page.

    Recommend No one has recommended this yet